Almost Never Boring…

and often easily amused

Kids say the darndest things… 4 December 2006

Filed under: Randomness — laughinglaura @ 20:19

So…  I teach the K-2 class on Sunday mornings, and yesterday we were talking about Mary and Joseph and how they weren’t married when Mary found out that she was going to have Jesus…  I was having the kids name someone who they know who is married, and most of them were naming their parents, or their grandparents, but there was one little boy who wasn’t sure who to pick b/c his brother had picked his parents, and his sister had picked his grandparents (yup, three siblings in consecutive grades – poor parents, huh?).  Anyway, so he said “I know!  You’re married, Miss Laura.” Of course, I had to reply in the negative and explain that I wasn’t married.  He replied, “oh, so you must be a widow, then.”  And again I had to explain that I wasn’t, and that I had never been married.  It was so cute b/c he was confused and had to ask why I wasn’t married.  Of course, then I had to explain that noone had ever asked me…  And all of the kids were wondering why noone had ever asked me.  It was too funny. 

Another conversation I had along those lines happened a couple months ago with a little girl from church who’s three years old.  It went something like this… 

“Where is your husband?”

“I don’t have one.”

“But aren’t you married?”

“No, I’m not married.”

“Why aren’t you married?”

“Because no one has asked me to marry them.”

“Why haven’t they asked you?”

“I don’t know why not.”

“Well, I think someone should ask you, because you need a husband.”

 

3 Responses to “Kids say the darndest things…”

  1. Of course you do, dear– whatever did you think you were doing without one? Now, run down to the hardware store and pick one up (They’re on aisle 4) so that your life may become complete…… *sigh*

  2. I went down there, but they were all sold out. Even worse, they wouldn’t issue a rain check. Guess I’m just out of luck, eh?

  3. U might wanna check again, the new stocks have probably arrived!!!


Leave a Reply

