Almost Never Boring…

and often easily amused

I need to learn to speak more slowly… 31 January 2007

Filed under: Funny Stuff,Prayer Requests,Randomness — laughinglaura @ 20:49

My friend Vickie is supposed to come over for dinner and a Pride and Prejudice half-marathon on Friday night, but tonight she said she might not make it – below is our conversation…

Vickie: I might have to back out–we found out last night that my uncle has what is probably bone cancer  so I may need to run up to WY this weekend
Laura: kk – just keep me posted
Vickie: Dad thinks he’ll be around for a while, Mom thinks he might not last too long.  I was originally planning on waiting a while because I didn’t want to overload him with visitors now and then have him not have anyone later, but after hearing what Mom said, I’m not sure.
Laura: hm…  I’m not familiar with bone cancer, though depending on where it is, they can amputate and solve the problem sometiems
Vickie: Skull.  I’m thinking not.
(Laura and Vickie laugh)

So…  Please pray for Vickie’s uncle Scott.  He is married with three kids, the oldest is in college and his youngest is just ten.  He is currently in the hospital, and is in a lot of pain.  The doctors will be doing more tests this coming week to see if the cancer has spread.

Disclaimer:  I am not the insensitive doofus the above post demonstrates me to be…   Vickie and I talked more seriously about this and I was quite concerned.  Also, Vickie knows I posted this, because I asked her first.  We thought the lightheartedness of the post would help to offset the scariness of it all. 

 

2 Responses to “I need to learn to speak more slowly…”

  1. Vickie Says:

    Update–my uncle is home, and they have a treatment plan set up for him. I guess his doctor is very good and has worked with him before . . . he and his family both sound very optimistic, and he plans on living another 20 years, Lord willing. But please keep the prayers coming! Thanks to all.

  2. I’m glad to hear he’s doing better! Optimism is one of the best ways to help his body fight back. Be sure to keep us posted 😀


Leave a comment