Almost Never Boring…

and often easily amused

A bit of good news… 24 January 2008

Filed under: News,Rants — laughinglaura @ 23:40

As some of you know, a couple weeks ago I was forced to move away from my beloved window, to a temporary location for about a week and a half, b/c my supervisor wanted one of our new hires (she was hired after temping for several months) to feel like a permanent part of our team.  Then on Tuesday, I had to move again to a “nice, private, more of an office, less of a cube-type area” (as so-described by my supervisor), because my temporary office was needed for another new hire…  However, this new area does not have a window.  Furthermore, it has three walls that are all a weird, mustard-y brown color, and the area is about 7′ by 10′.  Prior to my moving to this area, it was used for storage and file cabinets.  I call it “the cave.”  Not only is it window-less and cave-like, but I am also isolated from all of my co-workers…  Additionally, everyone who has come over to see my new diggs have incredulously asked “this is your new area????”  They have all been sympathetic, and one gal who saw it for the first time today told me she would pray for me that I wouldn’t be too depressed by being there.  No, really, she did…  I promise I’m not making it up.

Obviously I am less than thrilled about working in the cave, and most of the folks in the office know this – they’ve asked, and I’ve answered honestly.  But, I’ve been trying to make the best of it, and my super has been pretty accommodating about finding a few of the extra furnishings that I’ve requested – a table for extra workspace, a bulletin board to post my calendar and other notes, etc. 

 Today, however, my super’s assistant asked if she could talk to me for a few moments…  She told me that she just wanted to make sure I know that I am a very vital piece of our team, and she wants to make sure that I’m happy.   She knows how unhappy I am in the cave, and told me not to get too settled in because I’ll be moving yet *again*…  My new cube is being vacated b/c a couple of gals from the office are switching to work from home FT.  And one of the gals who will be working from home has a cube that’s next to a window.  HOORAY!  The view from her window isn’t as good as the view from “my window” but it’s a million times better than “the cave.”  I have to keep things on the down-low for a few weeks, but at least I know there is light (literally) at the end of the (figurative) tunnel.  😀

 The frustrating thing about all of this, though, is that if I could’ve just waited a week to move the first time (a point I was unable to argue with my supervisor b/c he left on vacation having told everyone involved about the move, except for yours truly), I wouldn’t have had to move at all b/c the gal who moved to my desk could have, instead, moved to the desk of the gal who was fired last week…  Everyone involved knows that this would have been the best plan of all, but once the serial moves began, there was no stopping them…  *sigh*  I have a picture of the view from “my window” but I think I’m going to wait to post it until I also have a photo of “the cave.”

 

5 Responses to “A bit of good news…”

  1. Suezque Says:

    How frustrating! You guys have work-from-home posittions? How cool! I loved it when I worked at home from the telemarketing place in Pueblo. Hmmm…Idea forming… Do I have to live in Springs to work at home for you guys??? 🙂

  2. These work from home positions are brand new, though they’re not new positions… The two gals have worked for us for several years, and they’re switching to working from home b/c we don’t have enough enough room in the office for everyone to work with the new people they’re hiring to work *in* the office… Unfortunately, I don’t think they plan on hiring anyone new to work from home. Sorry!

  3. Suezque Says:

    Can’t blame a girl for trying! 🙂

  4. If something does come up, I’ll definitely let you know! 😀

  5. Suezque Says:

    You’ve been tagged! 🙂 Check out my blog.


Leave a Reply

