Almost Never Boring…

and often easily amused

It’s still not real… 26 May 2008

Filed under: News,Prayer Requests — laughinglaura @ 21:35

I know, I’ve not posted in a while…  I’ll explain later on…  Right now I want to ask you to please pray for the Whitlow and Hollingsworth families. 

My cousin Gary and his wife Kim were tragically killed by a tornado late this past Friday night on their way to visit Gary’s family for the holiday weekend, and to meet their new baby nephew. News stories here, here, here, and here.   I still can’t believe it’s true.  I don’t *want* to believe it’s true.  Honestly, I’ve waited so long to even post anything b/c actually writing all this out makes it more real than I want it to be.

Gary and I weren’t close when we were growing up – he’s a boy, he’s four years older than I, and I only saw him once or twice a year – but after I moved here to CO, we started seeing each other more often.  Then Gary and Kim started dating, and later married, and we saw each other even more because Kim and I quickly became friends.  Over the past four years I’ve spent more time with and have become closer to them than I am with some of my cousins who I saw nearly every day when we were growing up.  Funny how that happens, sometimes, isn’t it?

The following is a slightly modified verstion of a poem I wrote a few years ago when a friend from college died tragically and unexpectedly.  The same thoughts have been swirling through my head these past few days… 

When I first heard the awful news:
G and K had passed away
I didn’t know just what to think,
or even what to say.

And as I lay here, trying to sleep,
I just keep asking, “why?”
Why did this have to happen?
Why did they have to die?

Why did God have to take our friends?
They were so very young.
It seemed, to us, as though their lives
Had only just begun.

But Our Lord has a master plan,
And works in His own time.
And although I would like it to be,
It’s not the same as mine.

We find comfort knowing that
Strong, Christian lives they led.
Because of this, as we all know,
The best still lies ahead.

 

11 Responses to “It’s still not real…”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oh Laura, I’m so sorry!

  2. Marie Says:

    Laura, I am so sorry for your loss! What a beautiful poem.I still cannot believe it myself! Will you be going to Kansas fot the services? If not there will be one here, the family just doesn’t know when. Take Care!

  3. I’m planning to leave early this afternoon (around 2p-ish), and I’ll leave not too long after the funeral tomorrow b/c I have an appt Thursday that I can’t miss.

  4. Chelf Says:

    I didn’t know G was your cousin. I am so sorry for your great loss. I will probably see you at the funeral. I am coming from OKC.

    Your poem is so beautiful. Everyone who has written anything has said it so eloquently.

    I am still praying for both families, and I will continue for a long time.

  5. Laura,
    I know the Whitlows through our church camp. Wayland was the director for many years. Neal and my youngest brother are good friends. We were terribly sorry to hear about their accident. Your family is in my prayers. – Krystal Proctor Maples

  6. indie Says:

    I so sorry to hear that. 😦

  7. juliebrock Says:

    Laura, I am so sorry for your loss. I will pray for the families. Your poem is a lovely tribute…again, I am so sorry.

  8. Rhiannon Says:

    I’m so sorry, Laura. How awful. Wish I could give you a giant hug right now. Not that that would make anything better, but please know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers. I’m so sorry. Your poem is incredible–you always had such a way with words.

  9. It was so great to see you in KS…even though the reason for being there was so hard. I love you, and I’m praying for you that God will ease your burden of heartache from all that is going on right now.

  10. Char Says:

    Laura, I thought I commented on this a few days ago, but I guess my comment didn’t save.

    Just wanted to let you know I’m thinking about you and praying for you too. I hope you made it safely home from Kansas. May God Bless You and Comfort You!

  11. Marie Says:

    Hi Laura, Just wanted to check in since you are away from the rest of your family! If you ever need anything, I’m just down the road, er highway!


Leave a Reply

